My computer love

Placeholder ImageA few weeks ago, while having a very intimate dinner with about 20 of our close friends and family, my husband revealed that we met through an online dating site. The shock of how we met struck just about everyone at the table, well except for one of my close friend who actually introduced and encouraged me to online dating.

Almost automatically the astonishment responses came, followed by questions that traveled from across the table, “which online site?”, “where did you two go for your first date?”, “were you scared?”… My husband sat next to me smiling and laughing as he reminisced on the moments that made our relationship so special. I on the other hand was a little resistant to share, trying to smile through the uncomfortable feeling. I did not make any eye contact, I was afraid of being judged or even criticized. I did not want the opinions or thoughts of others because honestly it did not matter at this point of our relationship – we met online, we dated and we got married. And to be frank, no one really had “that” conversation with me and asked me, “so how did you two meet”?

Needless to say, that was an awkward moment for me until I realized it was my own way of thinking. I was the one being judgmental about online dating. I realized how online dating provided me with the option to choose from a panel of men who I felt were most compatible to my needs. I am truly thankful that I found the love of my life through this non-traditional source. I am grateful that my own opinions about online dating did not stop me from “meeting” my future husband. Those humble reflections allowed my walls to come down and share the smiles and laughs with my husband. I became engaged in the “how did you meet” conversation and realized our guests were very intrigued with our story.

When I first decided to sign-up to one of the dating site it was for pure entertainment – no commitments, to hold adult conversations, and to see if I still got “it”. Well, I definitely still had it and I believe I made good connections because I had no initial expectations from these men. I was online for about two weeks but my husband was more of a seasoned online dater, he saw the good, the bad and definitely the ugly (I was his best…lol). Maybe, I can convince him to write a blog one day, illustrating different tips on how to get the best results while dating online. I would encourage anyone to try online dating, it’s no different from meeting a stranger at your local grocery store. Online dating does have its challenges (just watch the show “catfish”) but it definitely has its rewards like your chance of finding your forever. #BEBLESS #BELOVE

5 thoughts on “My computer love

Leave a comment